Kaltura MyMedia is the video platform in Blackboard. As part of Mason’s unlimited bandwidth contract with Kaltura, a deletion policy is required. Deletions will only occur with videos which have not been played by anyone for 4 years. An email will be sent to the owner 30 days before a video is deleted with options to stop the deletion and retain the video for another 4 years.
- Multiple Formats: When media is uploaded to Kaltura MyMedia, Kaltura converts the video into multiple formats to enhance playback.
- Media/Video: Kaltura stores audio, video, and image files, collectively known as media. Since most media is video, the word video is often used to refer to all media.
After 3 years of no plays, a video’s multiple formats will be deleted. The originally uploaded video will remain and will continue to play wherever it is located (i.e. a Blackboard course). Playback quality may be reduced. The video owner can add the multiple formats back to the video if needed.
After 4 years of no plays, the video will be permanently deleted from the system and will not be recoverable.
An email (see sample below) will be sent to the media owner 30 days before the deletion. The email will provide instructions on stopping the deletion if desired.
At any time, a media owner can:
- Stop the deletions by accessing the video and watching the video for 10 or more seconds. Playback by anyone (not just the media owner) stops the deletion. Playback will reset the deletion clock.
- Add the multiple versions back to their media. Please submit your request to email@example.com.
- Download the original video to store somewhere else.
The deletion emails will only be sent to the video owner. Instructors and others using videos where they are not the owner should work with the media owner or ensure regular playback. A media item’s ownership can be changed by the original owner if needed. If the owner is no longer at Mason, please contact the ITS Support Center at 703-993-8870 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Email from: email@example.com
Subject: Your Kaltura MyMedia entry will be deleted in 30 days
Hi Mason User,
Your Kaltura MyMedia item(s) listed below will be deleted in 30 days, in compliance with the Kaltura retention guidelines: https://its.gmu.edu/knowledge-base/kaltura-retention-guidelines/
If you do not wish the media to be deleted, access the item and play the video for at least 10 seconds. This will cancel the deletion and no further action is required for 4 years. You can also download media using the directions on the above retention guidelines page.
EntryID - [link to media]
If you have any questions, please contact the ITS Support Center at 703-993-8870 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.