Once I upload my files to Kaltura can I delete the originals off my computer?

Yes. But we recommend you aways keep your original files on your local device.

Once you upload your media, Kaltura optimizes your files to a web and device friendly format. The original source media are archived in the Kaltura cloud. In your MyMedia Library you have the ability to download the original source video only (see Kaltura MyMedia > Edit > Download to activate)

Note: If you are using Kaltura Capture, your original source media lives in a dedicated folder on your computer. Media is saved as MP4s and can be found in the following locations:

  • Windows: C:\Users\\AppData\Local\Kaltura\Capture
  • Mac: /Users/username/Library/Preferences/Kaltura/Capture