How to Manage Users in Your MESA Share

Note: You must be your Department's Share Administrator in order to complete this process

Step 1

Open a web browser and navigate to tools.gmu.edu. Log in with your Patriot Pass credentials.

Step 2

Select Manage Shares from the left-hand menu.

Step 3

Select the department where your share resides.

Add a User

You can add users in the Manage Shares section of tools.mesa.gmu.edu.

Step 1

Select the share for which you would like to add a user.

Step 2

Scroll down and you will see three boxes.

  • Administrators: Users who are the Share Administrators for this share. In order to add or remove people from this share, you must be a Share Administrator.
  • Read/Write access: Users who have the ability to read and also write data to this share.
  • Read-Only access: Users who can only read data from this share but cannot add or alter it in any way.

Type the usernames of the employees that you wish to grant access in the white box of the area where you would like to add them, then select Add. They can either be separated by a space or an entire line. (They'reseparatedd by separated this example.)

The new users will now have access to the share and will be listed in alphabetical order. You will need to complete this process again for anyone you wish to grant Read-Only access or to make another user a Share Administrator.

Remove a User

You can remove users in the Manage Shares section of tools.mesa.gmu.edu.

Step 1

Select the share for which you would like to remove a user.

 

Step 2

Scroll down and you will see three boxes.

  • Administrators: Users who are the Share Administrators for this share. In order to add or remove people from this share, you must be a Share Administrator.
  • Read/Write access: Users who have the ability to read and also write data to this share.
  • Read-Only access: Users who can only read data from this share but cannot add or alter it in any way.

Type the usernames of the employees that you wish to remove in the white box of the area where you would like to remove them, then select Remove. They can either be separated by a space or an entire line. (They're separated by a line in this example.)

The users will now be removed from the list and they will no longer have access to your share. You will need to complete this process again for anyone you wish to remove from the Read-only access section or to remove someone as a Share Administrator.